Why Cultural Intelligence (CQ) Matters

Cultural Intelligence (CQ) is the ability to function and relate effectively across diverse situations. The more a person grows in CQ, the more effective they are in cultivating relationships with people who have differing values and perspectives. Basically high CQ = increased relational effectiveness and that skill gives way to greater Gospel opportunities, either represented by our love for one another or by our ability to adapt to those who do not yet know Jesus.

Just two months ago, I spoke at a Fall Retreat in Boston about “Shalom” (with God and others). A few short weeks after I engaged with students and staff from all over the world, interpersonal and political turmoil erupted in the Middle East with Shalom nowhere to be found. Still, today Christians in the land seek to bring peace to the physical lives of the people and to their eternal souls. Jesus said, “Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called sons of God.”

How do we create peace with people so different from us?

Over the last 10 weeks, I’ve been working to help our missionary staff across the U.S. do just that. Here are some of the highlights:

Helping Staff Increase Relational Effectiveness through Cultural Intelligence: On October 23rd and November 7th, I led workshops in Orlando, Florida at our worldwide headquarters with our Human Resources staff who serve our headquarters and our HQ interns. 

Both workshops were a success with staff interested in learning about their own cultural values and those of others. They learned how without intentionality, one can allow bias to determine how one sees and engages with those who have differing cultural values.  

For example, if I hold the cultural value of expressive/affective communication, I have to be careful to manage my bias against those who culturally value neutral/non-expressive communication. Without CQ, I can allow myself to see those people as “emotionally stunted adults who lead passively”. However, high CQ recognizes culture might be at play and pauses to learn with curiosity and strategically consider how to believe the best of that person moving forward. 

I enjoy helping staff think through how best to honor and love one another across differences in the workplace. I believe that our development in this area only leads to more successful relationships with those who don’t yet know Jesus Christ. I also really enjoy seeing my fellow Oneness in Diversity team in person whenever we are all at HQ in Orlando, FL (pictured here).

As a certified facilitator with the Cultural Intelligence Center, I’m happy to respond to any questions this letter might have raised for you. – Tabitha Morales

Leave a comment